The log of one man's quest for wind and sunshine

Loreto to Playa Requesón

I got smart on my way up the Baja peninsula and took my time to see some neat spots.  My first stop was Loreto, BCS — home of the first mission of the Californias.  I rented a little room above a hardware store for the night and enjoyed a hot shower.  The next morning, I took a walk around this picturesque town, and enjoyed an eggs with cactus breakfast while watching the tourists and locals.

On my way down the coast, I had put a few x’s on my map where I wanted to camp on the way north, and when I reached the turn that brought me to Bahía Concepción I looked over that gorgeous bay with a lustful eye.  At about kilometer marker 94.5 there is a sliver of a beach called Playa Requesón.  I rolled down the dirt road to the beach to have some lunch if nothing else, but lo and behold someone was on the beach with a kite!  It turned out Kristine and Kevin, fellow kiters/hobos, had stopped here on their way North from La Ventana.  I quickly decided to camp for the night and set up my gear for a session on some of the most gorgeous water the Sea of Cortez has to offer.  Being out on the water by myself with no other vessel around for miles felt pretty neat, but also made me ride pretty conservatively.  Kevin was my only backup, if something were to go wrong.

2 responses

  1. Bart Cocquyt

    Wish you were here !
    No – wrong.
    Wish I was there.
    Have fun Jos.

    April 26, 2010 at 8:45 pm

  2. Pingback: Back to the US! « 21st Century Hobo

Leave a comment