The log of one man's quest for wind and sunshine

Back to the US!

Remember Kevin and Kristine‘s rig?  This gem made a lasting memory, and when I knew I was homebound somewhere in February I started researching getting my own rig like it.

The concept seemed reasonable: so as not to shock myself with immediate reintegration into Western society I would get one of these and hobo around some more, and finally do the road trip to Southern Utah and other gorgeous scenery in the Western US I always wanted to do, but never had time (damn you successful career).  It eventually could serve as a most excellent Baja mobile as well.  Such was the concept, and I started researching from the Far East, so I would hit the ground well-prepared when returning to SoCal.

The choices of VW Campers seemed abundant in the Southern California area when I was investigating from the Philippines, but by the time I got to LA, pickings were slim.  I ended up buying a pretty beat up bus from a young guy who didn’t seem to know more about cars than to put gas in them and turn the key, but, hey, I found  a running bus albeit with a minor oil leak.

Of course, where there’s smoke there’s fire, and where there’s a minor oil leak, there can be a massive oil leak.  The story is long, but the engine was blown, the transmission was whining, and I was pretty much ready to douse her in some gasoline and bid her adieu.  The exit strategies were limited though, and the cheerful plaid interior and commingled layers of orange paint on her dented exterior would melt even the staunchest car-hater’s heart.  So, with moral and facility support of my good friends Dan, Holden, Jason, Karen, Chase, Peter,… I set out to fix her up and now have a reliable classic to show for it.  I stil went ahead and got the AAA Platinum membership, just in case 😉

One of the key features installed:

5 responses

  1. Marshall Davidson

    When are you headed out? I’ve been looking forward to a continuation of your travel log.

    P.S. Carry a fire extinguisher 🙂

    September 8, 2011 at 2:04 pm

  2. Hi Marshall! I’m playing catch-up the get the blog back up to date. I left Simi on after Fourth of July. I’m actually in Montana now, and getting som nice photos! I should be fully caught up in the next month or so 🙂

    September 8, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  3. And I am carrying a fire extinguisher!

    September 8, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  4. Mike S.

    She’s a beaut! Looks like she’ll fit in well during your next excursion to CO 😉 We’ll be waiting…

    September 11, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

