The log of one man's quest for wind and sunshine

Eastern Sierra snow fun

One of more New Year’s resolutions was to become a more proficient snowboarder, and after putting in about 14 days on various slopes, I feel I have stepped it up a notch.  This past week I spent in Mammoth Lakes, California where I was able to enjoy some great snow, great company, and good exercise. I found a hostel online called the The Davison Guest House where I stayed for nearly the entire week. The setup was great with huge panoramic mountain views, a cozy wood stove, and giant, professional-grade shared kitchen.

Mammoth received around 31″ of snow while I was there making for excellent powder to packed powder conditions. While at the Davison house, I met some very interesting individuals including Rick, the 50+ surfer dude who drives down to Baja frequently (!), Jennie — a young Attorney/world traveler from Sydney, and Alan and Mauricio from Chile.  I had loads of fun with these folks, and ended up practicing lots of spanish with Mauro and Alan, as well as riding some prime Sierra Powder.  

Leave a Reply

